Home > Uncategorized > On the Road to Recovery

On the Road to Recovery

About four or five weeks ago I had some discomfort in my right leg, my doctor checked it out and said I had achilles tendonitis and a junction tear. She suggested I see a physiotherapist so I booked in with Tim Sheppard (ex-Norwich City FC physio) and he gave some advice and laser treatment.

I didn’t help matters when moving house as I had forgotten to put my inserts into my trainers and all the lifting, carrying climbing and jumping down from the truck left my feet feeling awful.

Just had an hour of sports massage with Phil Hutchings based at the Runners Centre in Norwich which has left me feeling great. He did a lot of work on both legs but focussing on my right calf, including some ultrasound.

Phil reckons that having not run for a good few weeks has really helped the injury heal and suggested that this week I jog gently on grass building up time and next week start running, again building up slowly.

This is great news as not only do I have my first triathlon in July which I was worried about missing but I may be able to make the second race in the Wroxham 5k Series in June.

Next up is the Norwich 100 cycle ride on the 6th June, hopefully it’ll be dry and warm.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

