Home > Injuries > Another injury…

Another injury…

Last Thursday I intended to take an easy run on part of the club 10k route, down one side of the lake and back through the woods. All started well, settled into a nice pace down Whitlingham Lane, lake path was a bit muddy but otherwise fine. Then got down to the end of the lake, took my eyes of the path to look a bit further up and OUCH – a slip on a tree root and my ankle is on fire!

Having got to a fence to lean against I could barely put any weight in my ankle but after a few minutes I started the walk back. No further than a few hundred metres later my right knee starts hurting, obvioulsy as a result of not being able to put weight on my left ankle – great. Walk back to the office must have taken me about 40 minutes but fortunately the rain held off.

A visit to the doctors the morning after confirmed that there was nothing broken but just soft tissue damage, good news but the bad news was he reckon it could take up to six weeks to heal properly. This pretty much rules out the club 10k for Nov with Dec a close call.

I’ll be training on the turbo to try and maintain what fitness level I currently have and will then start with some walking on the treadmill building upto to a gentle jog as soon as the ankle allows.

I’m not sure how this will affect my swim training but I need to get back on top of that as I’m supposed to be swimming a mile or two to raise money for the RNLI. Please visit my Virgin Money Giving page to make a donation, with a good few of us swimming in the sea at some point in out triathlon “career” who knows when we’ll need their help!

Categories: Injuries Tags: , ,
  1. Patsy
    November 12, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Hi, John,
    May I suggest you hire your own paramedic when you go out training?

    Love,
    Patsy

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

